Ormiston Sandwell Community Academy

Ormiston Sandwell Community Academy

Examination Results (Provisional) 2016

‘Provisional’ 2016 Examination results

Year 11 results

This year there is a major change in how the Y11 examination results are judged against national standards.  The headline measure is called Progress 8.  This measures the performance of individual students’ against their performance in eight subjects.  These subjects are:-

  • English
  • Maths
  • 3 EBACC subjects (any 3 from Geography/History/Computer Science/Science and a Modern Foreign Language)
  • 3 other qualifications

Progress 8 aims to capture the progress a pupil makes from the end of primary school to the end of secondary school. It is a type of value added measure, which means that pupils’ results are compared to the actual achievements of other pupils with the same prior attainment. The new performance measures are designed to encourage schools to offer a broad and balanced curriculum with a focus on an academic core at key stage 4, and reward schools for the teaching of all their pupils, measuring performance across 8 qualifications. Every increase in every grade a pupil achieves will attract additional points in the performance tables.

Attainment 8 will measure the achievement of a pupil across 8 qualifications including mathematics (double weighted) and English (double weighted), 3 further qualifications that count in the English Baccalaureate (EBacc) measure and 3 further qualifications that can be GCSE qualifications (including EBacc subjects) or any other non-GCSE qualifications on the DfE approved list.

BASICs measure this is the percentage of students who in 2016 examination results achieved a C grade or better in either English Language OR English Literature and Mathematics.

English Baccalaureate a C grade in 5 subject groups:-

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Modern Foreign Language
  • Geography or History
  • 2 Science qualifications (including Computer Science)



Year 13 "Provisional" Exam Results